Office Affair (Part 26)

By Mike_JustDoIt

I slept very little that night, reflecting on all the things that had happened in the past weeks. Over the weekend, I continued to struggle whether to call Hazel again. The resistance was much stronger this time. At the same time, I thought about Cheryl as well … about my attraction towards her and how I should keep it under control, before it got out of hand. I continued to be frustrated as I had no solution for both problems.

I had to attend a half-day seminar in the morning on the following Monday. On my way to the seminar, the egoistic side of me finally gave in to my emotional side and I texted Hazel …

Me: (text) I still love you … shall we meet to talk …

There was no reply from Hazel. Her silence worried me. I wasn’t paying any attention to the speakers at all. Checking my phone every now and then, I yearned to see a reply from her. I would jump whenever my phone buzzed. Then, just before lunch …

Hazel: (text) Give me some time, Mike …

These few words were like bullets shot straight through my heart. I stepped out of the room to call her. It seemed like forever before she picked up the call.

Hazel: Hey …
Me: Hey … Just like to know what you meant …
Hazel: (spoke very softly as she was in office apparently) I’m a bit confused now, Mike …
Me: You’re in love with him?
Hazel: I really don’t know what I am feeling now …
Me: Does this mean the end for us?
Hazel: … (silence) …
Me: (let out an audible sigh) Ok … I understand … I won’t force you … I’ll let you sort out your feelings …

I really didn’t have the mood to work that day and took urgent leave in the afternoon. But I didn’t have anywhere to go and I felt so pathetic. This time, I finally resolved to let Hazel go. I have to. But it was really painful … really, really painful … After all, we’ve been together for so many years, since our faithful business trip to Taiwan. I couldn’t just let her go overnight. It’s just not possible …

————

When I stepped into office the following morning, there on top of my desk was a box of chocolate, with a note from Cheryl. The note read “Thanks Mike. You’re the nicest boss!”

There was a warm feeling in my chest again, which sort of lifted my spirits a bit, but at the same time a pang of guilt hit me for all the dirty thoughts I had of her.

Cheryl: Hey Mike … (startled me from my thoughts) … You free tonight? …

Cheryl popped over my cubicle and propped her boobs over the low partition. It was so difficult not to look. She was wearing a white halter top under her dark office jacket. The top had a rather low opening in the front that allowed her cleavage to play peek-a-boo. The outline of her white strapless bra could be made out under the thin fabric.

Me: (keeping my eyes focused on hers) I’ve got nothing at the moment … What’s up?
Cheryl: Nothing … Just hoped to buy you dinner … To thank you …
Me: It’s nothing lah … Don’t have to buy me dinner for that … (actually I was in no mood for dinner) … You’ve already thanked me with this … (I held the box up in my hand, and gave her an appreciative smile)
Cheryl: Wei … Do you know it’s very malu for a lady to be rejected leh … (she pouted)
Me: (I laughed at the unexpected retort) Ok then, if you insist … How’s your ankle?
Cheryl: Great! I insist … Ankle is much better now … Did what you told me and put ice on it … Still feels a bit stiff though …
Me: That’s normal … It’ll get better …
Cheryl: (she smiled sweetly) K … See you later then …

There was a skip in her steps as she walked away, her boobs bouncing.

Dinner with Cheryl was nice. I brought her to Pregos at Raffles City for some Italian food. We chatted over various things. And for once, I didn’t harbour sexual thoughts about her and, for a while, it took my mind off my unhappiness. We thoroughly enjoyed each other’s company. As the topics got more personal, Cheryl asked …

Cheryl: Haven’t heard you mentioning your family before … Are you married?
Me: Do I look like I should be married? … (I raised an eyebrow)
Cheryl: Oops (stuck out her cute little tongue) … No lah … You look young … But then you have a boyish face … And so?? (It was her turn to raise her eyebrow)
Me: (showed her my left hand) … No ring …
Cheryl: Girlfriend?
Me: No … (then I thought of Hazel) … No, I don’t … And I know what you’re thinking … I’m not gay, ok …
Cheryl: (laughed) I wasn’t thinking that … But since you mentioned … Hmm … I’ll have to verify that … (continued laughing)

I laughed along, but in my mind I was wondering what she meant by her last sentence … Hmm …

Me: How ’bout you?
Cheryl: Boyfriend in US … studying …

My heart just sank on hearing that.

Me: Long distance … Not easy, ya?
Cheryl: Yea … It can get quite trying … He’s just so far away … And you know, sometimes I just need someone to … (she paused for a while) … be with … and he’s just not here …

Hmm … There she goes again … Is she hinting? … I really don’t know … But I didn’t want to presume, so I just tried to be casual about it and joked with her …

Me: Well, you can have my company if you don’t mind being seen with an old fart …
Cheryl: (chuckled) You can’t qualify as an old fart lah … ha ha … (I laughed along)

Maybe I was being level-headed, or perhaps I simply wasn’t in the mood, I didn’t make any advances on Cheryl that evening and I sent her home straight after dinner.

On reaching her block, Cheryl gave me a sweet smile before stepping out of the car.

Cheryl: Thanks for sending me back … Good night …
Me: Thanks for buying dinner.
Cheryl: No … I should thank you for your company … I had a nice evening … (She looked away and I thought I saw her blush)
Me: Text me when you reach home, K?
Cheryl: Hey … I’m not a kid leh …
Me: Just let me know you’re safely home … can?
Cheryl: Ok ok … So serious you … (she smiled and waved me goodbye)

5 minutes later …

Cheryl: (text) Reached home … Drive safely … See you tomorrow … Good night … : )

It brought a smile to my face …

Leave a comment