My colleague last day (Part 31)

By andthenhor

dragging myself from bed… i do my usual morning routine.. hating to accept that today might be the last time i will see ling in office…

no smile. no anything…. i kiss my wife goodbye as i go work…. she’s having bad headache and thus gotta take mc…

i reach office early, but hey, ling is earlier then me…

i saw her table mostly cleared…. she got 2 paperbag which i saw gift inside…

focing a weak smile…

me: wa… got preasent for me ahh?

ling: got…. of coz…

me: so sweet ahh….

ling: special one somemore ok…

soon, col start to come in…

she give out identical size present to everyone….

then finally she give me a different looking present…

ling: na… a special one for u….

she smile n walk back to her desk…

i took it and it’s kind of heavy…

feel like a block of brick…

me: orrhhh. … thanks…

eric: wa… got special one de wor…

aunty sue: of coz la… u know aaron treat her how good or not…

ling just smile and lean back on her chair where she start penning a good bye email to everyone… all the usual and stuff… ..

email:

me: am i suppose to open my present now?

ling: open in ur car when u going home ok….

me: ok…. any last word for me?

ling: nope… take care and treasure ur family ba…

me: u too k…. hope u made the right decision, and always stay happy!!

i continue doing my paperwork… very un focus…

i have this very sour feeling in my heart…. looking at her sitting on her desk without emotions, i just could not bring myself to accept that ling can just let go… But come on aaron, wad could she do??

cry?? dun be stupid…

i need to go le… the tension made me unable to stay any longer…

i take my bag, i walk to ling desk…

she was abit taken back by surprise…

me: ling, i got to go for appointment le… u take care k…. all the best in ur future…

she look up… “orrhhh… thanks….”

i lifted my hand to offer a light handshake…

she reluctantly lifted her hand hand shake mine, it feel cold and soft… how i will miss her little hand…

shaked her hand, smile and i turn and leave the office…. the next time i step in, she wun be around le… it will be a different office altogether…

when i reach the car… i took out the present and slowly unwrap it, keep wondering wad it was with each side unwrapped. …

it was hard… feel like a stone…

it’s a crystal block… ….

ling actually took one of our group photo and engrave in into a crystal….

the photo look kind of blur in black and white inside this crystal. but it’s enough to see who is who in the photo.

me and ling were side by side…. smile our best in this group photo…

i view through the crystal and saw a white piece of note below…

“dear aaron… if only i could freeze the time…. but since i can’t, i freeze the memory in this crystal…. forget me not….

love, ling”

i feel a tears tickle down my cheek…. i wipe it away…. and as i took in the fact that i might no longer see her again, more tear roll down…

at the same time, aunty sue call me….

i use both my hand to wipe away my tears…. cough abit…

me: hello?

aunty sue was wisphering…

sue: aaron.. wad u say to ling? she’s crying badly now at her desk leh….

me: huh? i dunno leh….. how is she….

sue: duno leh, she cry until poor thing…

me: nvm la… let her cry awhile lo,… will stop de…

not that i can do anything, going back to office will only make thing worse, and will let everyone know that we have fallen in love…

i read the note again….. send ling an sms and i drive out of the carpark….

ring ring, ring ring….

wife

me: hello?

wife: dear…. i’m positive leh!!

Tears of joy i guess…..

The END

Leave a comment