The beast within (Part 45)

By ilikeoldchangke

Riona : Really ?…. let’s do that then….!!

Riona removed her safety glasses and followed the owner eagerly towards his office.

Since I was the furthest away from the shooting gallery, I was the nearest to the office. Soh gestured for me to follow Riona and I nodded.

I thought Riona was heading to the office but instead she was heading to a smaller building at the side. A standalone structure about the size of a 3 room flat with it’s own bathroom.

The exterior looked normal, like any of those concrete structure with flat roof on the range but the insides looked different.

A row of expensive looking lockers each the size of a wardrobe lined the wall. Each is about the height of a man, 1.8m tall and 1m wide. Everyone came with it’s own expensive looking lock controlled by a touch screen keypad.

I was right behind Riona and the owner pointed her to a particular locker that was opened.

Riona smiled and when she saw me there, asked me to grab one 2 of the black wallets for the owner and bring the rest to her.

Riona : I’ll be fine alone…. Come back after you’re done….

Jim : ok…

I walked with the owner of the range Larry towards the vehicle.

Larry : You know Riona very well ? ….

Jim : Err… I wouldn’t say very well…. Why ?

Larry : Just curious…. Not many girls have hobbies like this…. haha..

Jim : Yeah… I think she’s weird too…

I handed Larry 2 of the wallets and went back to look for Riona with the rest.

When I got to the building entrance, blood left my face when I saw what Riona was holding.

Or rather, what Riona was doing.

She held something that is awfully familiar to me. In fact, any guy that has served in the army before would recognise that weapon Riona was holding.

No, I’m not stunned by the fact that she’s holding onto a M16 assault rifle. I’m stunned by the way she was handling it. She’s definitely used one before.

A couple of well-practised pull of the charging handles, checking to make sure the chamber is clear. Riona released the handle and squeeze of the trigger.

Jim : What are you doing ??….

Riona saw me at the entrance and asked me to keep quiet.

Riona : You tell Soh about this… he will fucking freak out… so… keep it to yourself…

Jim : What are you doing with that…. ?? You cannot shoot that here….you are not even supposed to have that !!! does Larry know ?? !!

Riona : Larry is aware…. It’s not cheap maintaining a place like this…..

Without breaking a beat, Riona started to strip the weapon down, checking each part to make sure they’re good.

I looked behind my shoulder and went forward to the cupboard Riona was at.

There was another rifle in there, 3 magazines and countless boxes of ammunitions. I could even see the brand of the ammunition.

5.56 tracer rounds made by American eagle. Projectiles that are built with a small pyrotechnic charge in their base, so when you shoot them, you can see the trajectory the bullet takes.

How the fuck did she get her hands on stuff like this.

It was then I remembered the deal with Anurak.

Jim : Anurak… he got these for you ???

Riona : Yeah…. Plenty of them in thailand… if you know where to look…..

After Riona reassembled the rifle, I watch her start to load the magazine.

I took a step backwards , shaking my head.

Jim : I… I have to tell Soh about this…. you cannot do this… you’ll get all of us into trouble….

Riona : Don’t be a wuss Jim… I do this all the time back in states…. It’s just so hard to practise in this part of the world….

Jim : Where did you learn to do things like this ??

Riona : Oh… you think only you boys can learn stuff like this ?

She was done with a full magazine and I watch her hold it up as she talked to me.

I feel quite uncomfortable about this as I continued stepping backwards.

Jim : Riona …. I … I just want to apologies for how ….. stupid I was last night…

She looked at me in surprise for 2 seconds before bursting into laughter. Shaking her head, she rolled her eyes and kept the stuff in her cupboard.

She came over , folded her arms and spoke to me, looking at me in the eye.

Riona : you owe me this…. for last night…. I’m just going to tell Soh…. That I want some time alone…. All of you can leave…. Come back in an hour…. I’ll be done by then…. You scardy cats can go and have lunch or something….

Jim : Riona… I still think.. it’s not a good idea…

Riona : I can handle myself Jim…. I’m not a little girl…. I do this like 3 times a month when I was studying….

I considered what she said and made her a counter proposal.

Jim : Tell Soh I’m staying … the rest will follow him… someone needs to keep an eye on you….

You must be wondering why I did this.

See, it doesn’t look like I can change Riona’s mind, she went through so much to get her toys so she can shoot it, she’s not going to leave without doing it.

If I leave with the guys, and anything happens to Riona, Soh is going to kill me if he knows I’m aware of Riona’s stunt. If the client dies, we don’t get paid.

At least if I stay, I can do everything within my capabilities to make sure Riona don’t do anything crazy.

Riona : Why ? aren’t you afraid of the consequences ?? hahahah… discharging a unauthorised weapon…. Hahah…

Jim : I’m not touching that… I’m just watching you do it…

Riona chuckled and shook her head.

Riona : Whatever rocks your boat man…. I don’t care…. there’s another one in the shelf if you want..….

Jim : No thank you… I’m not touching that….

Riona : chicken… haha….

I left the structure after I watch Riona locked the weapon in her locker .

Jim : You leaving those here ??

Riona : You know of any place in Singapore I can keep them ? …. Duhzz…

Heading back to Soh and the guys, I could hear the sporadic sound of gunfire from the range. Everyone was having a good time.

It’s not everyday that you get to fire a weapon in this part of the world. And that you’re doing it for leisure.

Mohan : Riona… come… come… I show you… hahaha…

She smiled and stepped up to the range, taking one of the preloaded weapon from the instructor and Mohan’s smile slowly faded away as she emptied her magazine rapidly, producing a grouping much better than the rest of the guys present.

The range grew quiet as Riona laughed before the clapping start.

Nelson : Riona…. I have fallen so deeply for you….. I don’t know what else to say….

Tommy : Riona…. I’m officially declaring I’m coming after you….. are you free this weekend ?..

The jostling started again much to her amusement while I remained at the back.

There’s much more to Riona that meets the eye and I’m not so sure she is the wide eyed spunky chick she is on the surface.

Riona spoke with Soh, asking him to release the team for lunch as she prefers to practice alone and in peace.

Riona : can you guys buy lunch back…..Jim can stay here with me..…

Leave a comment